Geordie Connelly wins Pickers player of year award

The Maitland Pickers celebrated the end of a tough season with Geordie Connelly named player of the year.

Connelly who was unable to attend the awards because of work commitments received the Ron Fairleigh Player of the Year Award, the first grade players’ player and best back awards.

Tylar Carter also had a big night being named best forward and winning the Presidents Award and Max and Gladys McMahon Trophy.

Jarron Costelloe was named rookie of the year and won the under-19 players player and best forward awards.

In a special ceremony Pickers junior Brock Lamb was honoured for making his first grade debut for the Newcastle Knights.

Other major award winners were PJ Ellis who received the Gordon Sparrar Farra Award, Pat Robards who won the John Newcombe Award and Ben Ireland who took out the Harry Hofman Award.

The prestigious club person of the year was won by Vicki Lawler.

A special presentation was also made to Wal Bell and Jeremy and Janelle Robson for their tireless efforts in running the canteen.


Best forward: Tylar Carter

Best back: Geordie Connelly

Players’ player: Geordie Connelly

Coach’s award: Rob Mason


Best forward: Lincoln Smith

Best back: Blake Steel

Players’ player: Jye Delany

Coach’s award: Charlie Woods


Best forward: Ryhy Fagerlund

Best back: Liam Walsh

Players’ player: Sam Tooth

Coach’s award: Cody Clulow


Best forward: Jarron Costelloe

Best back: Jerry Gibson and Daniel Ott

Players’ player: Jarron Costelloe

Coach’s award: Jack McNickle